Creation Care - What's the latest on better and cleaner power storage?

As a layman, I see a number of descriptions of static descriptions on fossil fuels, energy sources for EV’s, and “dirty batteries,” e.g. lithium. What seems to be the future of commercial and personal energy storage and use from renewable technologies?

1 Like

For quick discharge, new formulations of batteries seems to be the future. Lithium isn’t a serious problem, but some of the other chemicals in Li ion batteries are problematic, such as cobalt. Solid state batteries could be the next big thing.

Energy density is still a major hurdle for battery tech, but solid state batteries could see a big improvement for ground transportation. Still no replacing dinosaur juice for airplanes, though.

For power-grid storage, there are a lot of interesting ideas. People have been talking about iron batteries as of late, as one example. Pumped hydro is one of the oldest technologies for energy storage, but I’m not sure how effecient it is.

It is essentially running a hydroelectric powerplant in reverse. Excess energy during high winds or sunny days could be used to pump water above a dam where it could be used for making electricity during the night or during calm days.

4 Likes

With a title like that, you must be familiar with the Zondervan lectures on the subject:

These are some of the best video series I’ve come across. Haven’t seen this one by Moo, but I started listening to his series on Romans and fell in love with Keener after discovering him through his series on Revelation.

Thanks, T. And thanks for the articles. Any thoughts on a large commercial application of liquid hydrogen as more efficient than solids and safer, too? I’m all over the place in how to approach this topic, other than to know the current status is…current; it will change.

Scaling up, there’s only pumped storage as @T_aquaticus said and beyond that hydrogen and synthetic methane.