Christian, evolution and origins

Hi ! I am a student and grew up in a Christian family. I recently came into contact with questions about the relationship between evolution and Christianity. Although I have heard of some conflicts between the theory of evolution and Christianity before, I have not yet understood it in depth. Recently, I started to touch this topic again. Personally, I don’t particularly think that the theory of evolution and the theory of Christianity conflict with each other. They can compare each other and explore the world created by God. For example, I think they are fossils. Regarding origin, I believe that in Genesis 1-3, God created the world, the world and people, but I did not consider the direction of science, so I want to hear different people’s views on origin. And I still have some questions. When Christians disagree with science and the Bible, how should they answer wisely? Does conflict with Christians believe in evolution? Looking forward to your reply! Hope you all have a nice weekend!

Welcome to the forum, Gaby! You will find a variety of viewpoints here, but most would probably agree with your general statement that the theory of evolution (and other theories in science) are not in conflict with Christianity. The tricky part can be in how we understand what was intended to be conveyed in the book of Genesis, especially since we are not the culture it was written to.

I think Christians who disagree should prioritize finding common ground and being peaceful with one another, but also be sure to evaluate science truthfully, rather than starting with a conclusion and cherry-picking results from there. That’s one of the biggest issues I’ve seen. I grew up in a very strongly young-earth environment, so I’ve had some work to do in getting out of the “conflict” mentality. I wish you the best as you explore these questions!

2 Likes