Carbon Dating and Fossils

Hi allšŸ‘‹šŸ¼!

My wife and I were talking about the creation account, fossils that date back 30000 years, etc. And one thing that came up was carbon dating, and how it works. Iā€™m no scientist so forgive my ignorance. So pertaining to carbon dating, which seems to be the method by which the dates of a lot of archeological findings are based on. How did scientists land on the half life of C14 being 5700yrs old? How are scientists able to make that determination? Is 5700 years definitive or an estimate? If carbon dating is accurate, how do Christians reconcile the creation story, humans being descendants of Adam, with archaeological discoveries that date back 50000yrs, and show that humans might have evolved from apes or another species of humanoid?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me understand all of this!

I am a scientist, but this is still outside my wheelhouse as a biologist. However, the scientist in me was curious about a few things. Namely, what are the parameters for measuring the half life of 14C. I am also practicing Python scripting wherever I can, so this is what I wrote up. You can copy and paste the code below into an online Python interpreter: https://www.online-python.com/ . (everything after the # is ignored by the interpreter)

I also double-checked my math over here, and it agreed with their results when I put in the values for 238U.

# equation for calculations
# remaining atoms = 1/2^n * starting atoms
# where n is number of halflives

halflife = 5730 # halflife in years
mw = 14 # molecular weight of isotope
mass = 0.001 # mass of starting sample in grams (0.001 = 1 mg)

avogadros = 6.022E23 # number of atoms per mole

oneday = 1/(halflife*365) # number of halflives in one day
num_atoms = (mass/mw)*avogadros
num_remaining = 1/(2**oneday) * (num_atoms)
num_decays = num_atoms - num_remaining
dps = num_decays/(24*60*60)

print(f'number of atoms in {mass} grams of isotope = {num_atoms:E}')