Broaching the EC topic to family members

Hi, all! I wanted to introduce myself and ask about experiences sharing EC with YEC family members.

I’m Amanda. I’m a homeschool graduate currently pursuing my Bachelor’s degree in Applied Linguistics, with the desire of being involved in the linguistic aspects of minority language Bible translation (which, as I understand it, @Christy is involved in?).

To make a long story short, I grew up in a Christian home and was homeschooled all the way through high school. I was introduced to YEC through a conference by Ken Ham at a megachurch near me. I was about 13 years old at the time and I was fascinated. I got hooked on apologetics in general, and creationism specifically, in my early teen years.

My senior year of high school I had the privilege of learning speech & debate from a retired professor of communications (and retired assistant pastor) at my local homeschool co-op. He was a brilliant man, and a strong proponent of Intelligent Design. But he always pushed us students to fearlessly and relentlessly seek the truth. We got uncomfortably close to controversial issues in that class, and it changed my life. The last topic we tackled that year was evolution and creation, but we weren’t able to get very far into it. Just enough that I began to look into “the other side.” I had learned from my teacher just how important it was to never assume you understand the other side without truly searching it out for yourself.