Balancing new perspectives with relationships in your church community

I am brand new to the Biologos forum and by no means an expert in all things TE, all i can say for now is i am very passionately learning all I can, and it seems to connect much of the world around me in a way i’ve yet experienced.

My question is, are there other people that have experienced struggles connecting to their local church community because of these very marginalizing beliefs? I am in the midst of some big changes for our family trying to find a church that we can connect with. I believe we shouldn’t seek out a church for our our selfish preferences…yet the church I was at for 10 years, and the churches i’ve visited since then all have had issues that I don’t feel fit the journey I’m on.

I really want to find a church that accepts doubt, debate, and new ideas (discussion on TE), but the few interactions i’ve had with members of various churches have not been good.

Any experiences or thoughts would be great!

Excellent topic, and one we regular people without Ph.Ds can discuss. We have touched on the subject before, but never hurts to revisit it, as it seems everything evolves, including churches. ;{)
My personal church is southern baptist, but is quite diverse. Some of the more vocal people are YEC, but I notice they have calmed down a bit, and really are good not to make it an issue, as we as a church are really trying to stretch the tent to cover a more varied group than is traditional for a baptist church. The pastor is fairly moderate overall, and while he avoids controversy, seems to be open to different views on non-essential doctrine.
If I were looking for a new church, I think I would visit with the pastor to see what the attitudes are, and even if more of a literalist, so long as it was not seen as a critical issue, could live with it if the church community otherwise felt right.