At Home in the World?

TL;DR
To what extent should Christian feel at home in the world? How might a person’s answer impact their engagement with the climate crisis?

The Longer Readt
Having recently moved from the edge of London to a village on the edge of the New Forest, my family and I are fortunate enough to be surrounded by more nature than perhaps at any point in our lives. Having recently left pastoral ministry to support my wife as she took up a position as a seminary lecturer, I also have more free time to explore the countryside around me. Last week I decided to walk the hour’s walk to the next village for a coffee. The route goes over farmland, through woodland, over streams and past a 13th Century church. I feel very privileged and blessed to live in this part of the country.

On the way home, I got to thinking how at home I feel in nature and in the countryside. Which got me reflecting on a teaching point that I have heard over the years, and one I have probably taught and preached myself at various points. Namely, that Christian’s should not feel at home in the world’.

The refrain that is oft-repeated is that Christian’s are ‘in the world but not of the world’. Sometimes supported by verses like Phil 3:20 that speak of our ‘Citizenship’ being ‘in heaven’ and others. This is usually packaged with a belief that the goal of the Christian life, and indeed what Jesus came to achieve, is our ‘going to heaven when we die’.