An engineer asks: Why do honeybees love hexagons

hello

i am a mechanical engineer (university degree, europe)

Recently i came across the following TED video:

The author compares various shapes of the honey combs, and finally concluded, that bees ‘agreed on’ the most efficient shape (hexagones ) for the maximum storage capacity…

from the video:

“they (bees) agreed on an ideal size (shape) and returned to work…”

Why the author of the video speaks to me like i was mentally ill ?

"Bees agreed on ? "

from the video: “Hexagonal-shape is probably the result of trial and error … long evolutionary history… bla …bla …bla…bla…bla…bla…”

Probably ?

Bees agreed on ?

Trial and error ?

Where are all the errors ?

CAN ANYBODY SHOW ME THE ERRORS ?

Where are some circle / triangle / rectangle - shaped honeycombs ? Was something like that ever found ?

Where are all the trials and errors ?

An engineer asks:

There are like 10,000,000 kinds of species on Earth right now, how many ‘errors’ did you biologists and other experts find so far ? like 5 or 10 ?

Can someone explain to me ?

The first thing to notice, I think, is that the question of why the hexagon shape is most advantageous is separate from the question of how bees evolved to make their cells in that shape. Or is it?

Perhaps it really is as simple as random mutation and the feedback loop of survival advantage. Bees which managed their time and effort the best should have an advantage. Bees work pretty hard gathering all that pollen to make the honey which sustains them. And bees that could store the honey in times of plenty would be better able to exploit a wider range of habitats.