A Pastor's Journey

I am a Lutheran pastor who has served various parishes in Western Canada since 1982. The denomination I belong to is staunchly young earth creationist. The relationship between science and faith has been of interest to me for most of that time. After a lot of research (and prayer!) I made the transition to evolutionary creation and the BioLogos organization has been a tremendous help in that process. My experience is that resistance to change in the church comes primarily from the clergy. The laypeople are much more open to evaluating the evidence for an old earth and common descent.

10 Likes

Hi Terry, thanks for sharing part of your story. What do you think it is that leads some of the laypeople more open to evaluating the evidence than some of the clergy?

1 Like

I am also a Canadian. Canada is a spiritually dark nation. Do you think that young earth creationism was partly responsible?

Welcome, and thanks for sharing a bit about your journey. That’s an interesting insight on the attitudes of clergy compared to lay people. I suppose in some ways it’s understandable, as clergy are tasked with guiding and exposing false and dangerous ideas, and so it’s probably easy to see science as an enemy in general.

Clergy typically have a denominational “party line” to adhere to and to depart from it may lead to sanctions.

1 Like

Young earth creationism, as I see it, is primarily motivated by a desire to defend the authority of scripture, a good thing, to be sure. If anything, it may be perceived as a hindrance to the Gospel and to participation in the Christian community by those, for example, involved in a scientific vocation.

8 Likes