My religious experiences in Netherlands

Hi Al. I’m an European scientist, raised Christian, but the clergy in Nl, Be and Fr are so uninspiring that I lost interest. In addition the RC clergy has a habit to preach water, while drinking wine themselves. So I quit and I saw many others do the same. (And some 30 years later I was quite rudely corrected to serve the Lord in a way nobody believes, except my wife, who saw it happen.)

Hi Jan You did not mention the area of science you specialized in, but you seem to fit the pattern of my European colleagues who were in ‘computer-aided drug design’. They felt strongly motivated by the hope that their efforts would help alleviate human suffering and pain, and they were given little or no inspiration from the churches they attended. My experience in the U.S.was slightly different. Amongst the several R.C. parishes to which we belonged there were five young priests who delivered inspiring and timely homilies. All five have left the priesthood to become husbands and fathers! There are woefully few ministers who have the ability and grasp of Scripture to make it relevant to today’s youth who are lost if deprived of their I-phones. Hopefully BioLogos can help.
Al Leo

Hi Albert. I studied mechanical engineering and specialized in energy supply. I did that aside a full time job as designer in the heating industry, and in 5 years, while the average student needed over 7 years. The day after the last exam I got a job as process engineer and before I had received my Master certificate I became responsible for the design and working of a power plant that was being built in the Middle East. A few years later I switched to the IT sector, where my small team was the only team that delivered error free software within the planned time and budget. I stayed there until retirement. I’m a workaholic, I dislike inconsistencies and I never ever give up.