Small Group Book Study - What did you do? How did it go?

First - keep up the great work BioLogos, you guys are awesome!

Second - if I’m in the wrong forum group, please bump me.

Third…

Earlier this year my church did some group stuff where we tried to identify where our calling might be and mine apparently focuses down the path of the science and faith relationship. In a follow up session I floated the idea of a book study using “Origins” by the Haarsmas which the pastor thought would be a great idea. I learned he and another member did a small class about a decade earlier.

In a conversation with him last week he asked me about my small group idea so I’m probably committed. It didn’t help that he knows my daughter and I went the conference in Houston in March. And I feel like I need to act on Dr Collins’ charge to go back home and make safe opportunities for people to ask questions.

My background is in software engineering by day and amateur astronomy by night, I’m great on the science front, no so great on the theology stuff. The church is Lutheran Church Missouri Synod, but it’s not hard core. The pastor is a science nut and when they did an origins topic class last it looks like he used a lot material from RTB. This was before BioLogos I’m quite certain. There are four pastors now and of the other three one probably leans OE/RTB, the other maybe more YEC, and I’m not sure on the fourth.

When I saw on FB the other day a post about the “Genesis” movie coming out in November I felt like I was being poked again.

Anybody out there done an origins small group book study (and used the “Origins” book)? Any tips, suggestions or comments on how it went? I like the “Origins” book because it takes a look at all the perspectives and doesn’t explicitly push one - although its pretty obvious that certain ones have a lot of issues.