Natural evil and the goodness of God

First of all I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the Biologos Foundation. I am a Christian and the blogs on this website have proved to be extremely helpful and resourceful for me as I have studied science and religion. I appreciate your honesty and willingness to follow the evidence wherever it leads concerning evolution and the respect you show to all who disagree with your particular beliefs. I am new to the discussion forum so I apologize for using this specific topic to express my gratitude but I wanted to make sure you understand that I genuinely appreciate the work your organization is performing. Now to the topic.
I’m sure there are many blog posts in the archives that could be referenced for this topic but I would like to update the conversation. More specifically, as Christians and those who believe the scientific evidence for evolution is very strong and compelling how do we justify the “goodness” of God with the long periods of time where animals are competing for survival in the midst of an environment that is sometimes very hostile to life and where predation, parasitism, pain, suffering and death are common themes that are taking place within the animal kingdom? Most of the atheistic vs. theistic debates in modern times that I have watched eventually come across this topic but I have yet to hear an answer that is “compelling” to think that we can justify God’s goodness with our evolutionary history. Obviously it is perfectly logical to assume the existence of God with any such processes but to say that God is good appears to need some kind of justification. I do realize that somewhere in this process we have to plug in Adam and Eve {possibly representing a small population of our ancestors) and the fall but I’m inclined to say that the atheist or skeptic has a very good point in calling into question God’s goodness and it’s compatibility with the evolution of life on our planet. Thoughts?