Labels? Doctrines? Do we need them?

And we all have labels. I’m a teacher, more specifically, a physics teacher. Fiancé, brother, nephew, son, friend, mentor, sinner, American, Connecticut resident, mammal, homo sapien, primate, etc. Labels are absolutely fine though they can become bad like anything else. They are just statements about who we are that provide information and context for our lives and beliefs. It’s not about wanting. Our labels are kind of who we are— at least who we understand ourselves to be and who others see us as (correctly or incorrectly).

Ive also never been a fan of the “I have a relationship not a religion” line many other Christians are fond of. That relationship is a religion by definition. I don’t see religion as a bad thing. Many of the Christians who say in my experience anyways, have anti-Catholic sentiment built into their “religious beliefs.”

4 Likes

Good luck having a label on your head then . They are as srupid as anyone who is doctrinal. People like these cant see besides their doctrine. But kf course you defend. So not very openminded are you?

Good luck having a bjnch of orthodox people trying to convince you that kissing icoms amd veneraratimg saints its alright and if yku say otherwise yku are wrong. Yeah not doctrinal at all

The incarnation is doctrine.
To be Christian is to have a label.

Your view on this appears analogous to me to “Red” being upset someone called it a color.

1 Like

No? Also not a christian. More like agnostic to this point. Not even that. I dont want to label myself

Umm no?

So you are considered an orthodox Christian though you state you aren’t a Christian? I’m confuzzled. By whom? Or do you mean you were considered Orthodox?

This basically

To accept a label is to accept some shred of responsibility. Even being agnostic comes with some responsibility assuming you want to have genuine relationships with others where you get to know them and allow them to know you.

6 Likes