Jeremy D. Lyon's essay “Genesis 1:1–3 and the Literary Boundary of Day One”

What are your thoughts on Jeremy D. Lyon argument in “Genesis 1:1–3 and the Literary Boundary of Day One,” (The Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society, 62.2, 2019, pp. 269-285)?

Jeremy D. Lyon, in a 2019 essay in The Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society , proffered an interpretation of Genesis 1 that begins day one at the first verse. He called this “the traditional interpretation” and claimed it “reflects the grammar in the most straightforward manner” and is supported by “inner-textual commentary.” It is the standard interpretation for Young Earth Creationists (YECists), like Ken Ham and John MacArthur.

It was an overtly YEC interpretation in one of evangelicalism’s highest profile theological journals. Has it been answered yet?

Welcome John, I have no knowledge of that so eagerly await, but is this something that was used to differentiate YEC from Gap Age creationists (where some place a gap between verse 1 and 2 to account for an old earth? I can see how Ham would want to squash that like a bug as he is totally committed to a 6000 year old earth.

1 Like

That’s right. Much of the debate of YEC vs. OEC centers around the interpretation of the “days.” Often both groups over look the fact that Genesis 1:1-2 says the earth (and the rest of the universe) was created and nurtured prior to day one. The YEC tactic, then, is to argue that Gen. 1:1-2 is actually part of day one. However, the problem for them is that each day begins with “and God said” and for day one that doesn’t happen until 1:3. What is reported in Gen. 1:1-2 appears to be at an undisclosed time prior to day one. So even if we accept the YEC insistence on a literalistic interpretation of the “days”, that still doesn’t provide a basis to say that the Bible teaches a young earth.

Lyon’s article is an attempt to argue that Gen. 1:1-2 is part of day one.

1 Like

Bio here

JEREMY LYON PH.D.