Is it possible for evolutionary creationism to have a young earth?

Hi, my name is John Tan and I’m a high school student. I recently learned about evolutionary creationism and am wondering if it’s possible for the view to include a young earth. I understand that there is overwhelming evidence for an old earth, but I do not know much and would like to learn more.

Welcome! You help make the case that several students in the same class have arrived here pretty much concurrently. :slightly_smiling_face: There are several new converstions here that are addressing similar questions from high school students, so instead of building a new one right away, it might be a good idea to look at them first. I don’t know how familiar you are with navigating around here, but this is what I use as home base:

https://discourse.biologos.org/c/open-forum

1 Like

I don’t think so. Answers in Genesis (a militant YEC organization), in their trying to get all extant animal varieties from the relatively few species on Noah’s ark over the relatively short time they allow, have to embrace a kind of hyperevolution.

Sure… right between two of the elephants on the turtle holding up the earth.

It is a question of the objective scientific evidence. EC is all about the compatibility of Christianity with science.

The evidence for evolution is overwhelming.

But the evidence against a young earth is a thousand times more so.

It is more believable that the earth is flat and shaped like a table.

It goes against the whole point of EC to contradict all the science showing that the Earth is not young.