How do people with different view read the bible?

Hi everyone! I am a high school student studying in a Christian school. In my bible class, we learned about YEC, OEC, and EC. Out of the three, I agree with old earth creationism because I think that some parts in the Bible are not entirely in line with evolution, but parts of it are, I am still a little confused about how people believe in YEC, OEC, and EC read the Bible differently because sometime the Bible could contradict their idea. Thank you! Stay safe and have a great day!

1 Like

Maybe you could clarify which parts of the Bible you do not think are “in line” with evolution?

Here is an article that explains some of the differences in how different views approach things:

Thank you so much. The article is very beneficial. The part that I do not think is “in line” with evolution would be common ancestry.
Also, in the article, the paragraph about OEC It said that God miraculously created new species at key moments in the history of life. I have never heard that before, which I found interesting to me and want to read more about! Is there any article that talks mainly about that? Maybe you can share it with me? Thank you!

Why?

The Bible only says that God created all living things. It does explain how. Why shouldn’t a common ancestor be part of how God created living things? Where does the Bible conflict with this?

One thing which is not in Bible is this idea of God as watchmaker or intelligent designer, let alone the idea of God as some kind of sorcerer or necromancer. The Biblical description is that of a shepherd. The Shepherd does not design his sheep. The Shepherd watches over them and guides them. And that is the EC view.

A little bit of detail is given in the case of man in Genesis 2, but the literal treatment of this is unwarranted because of the disagreement with Genesis 1, and is theologically problematic anyway.