Following Jesus as a Graduate Student in Life Sciences

This may not relate to the typical conversation around the intersection of science and faith, but it is something I have been wrestling with during my time in graduate school. I am currently a graduate student in a Ph.D. program. I consistently feel that my Christian convictions surrounding how to live my life (e.g. the importance of time with family, sabbath, etc.) bump up against the culture of higher education, specifically the life sciences, to work long hours in order to produce research at a high rate. My question is has anyone else felt this tension? If so, how do you deal with it? Do you have any practices that have worked for you to be able to balance both?

3 Likes

Hi, Landon - and welcome to the forum! At the risk of seeing in your challenge a “nail” for which I may have just picked up a hammer this morning, I’ll presume to paste a bit of a meditation I wrote down which I think relates - at least peripherally - to the work-life balance you speak of. My apologies if this misses the boat. Pasted below, and just off my keyboard mere minutes ago.

My imagined Mary and Martha narrative revisited (the opening bit inspired by a skit I saw many years ago and can no longer find anywhere.)

After the initial squabble about the unfairness of Martha’s work load, they end up washing dishes together after the guests have left, and then eagerly retire to grab some ‘sister-time’ in the living room while Mary continues to share and fill the now-eager Martha in about what she learned from Jesus that day.