Books about Genesis and Evolution

Hi everyone, I’ve enjoyed the podcast for a long time, but I just joined the forum because I’d like help picking the best resources. I’m a high school science teacher as well as a Christian. My Sunday School is going to do a full study of the Old Testament starting in January. I’d like to better understand how to read the book of Genesis in a way that fits with what we know about the history of Earth and the evolution of species, and I am looking for books that can help me with this.

I have seen plenty of scientific evidence for evolution, so I don’t need a book to help me accept that. What I would like are books that can explain how to interpret Genesis in a way that fits with the modern understanding of evolution, without having to treat Genesis as a made-up story. I know that BioLogos lists 35 books under the topic of Evolutionary Creation, but I’d like to know which are the best 4 or 5 for me to start with. I’ve heard recommendations for John Walton and Dennis Venema, but I’m definitely willing to read whatever other books have helped all of you.

Thank you!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Wesley! Glad you have enjoyed the podcast and stopped by. I see you’ve already mentioned John Walton, but his books are where I started so I’d recommend them. Hopefully others will chime in with others they’ve been impacted by.

1 Like

Welcome!

I think that Walton would be great for that. Enns’ “Evolution of Adam” is also helpful, though he does treat the creation story as non literal.

1 Like

Can you tell me more about Enns’ perspective? Does he believe in God? Does he believe there is any truth to the events of Genesis?

1 Like

If Genesis isn’t a made up story, if you accept all that science says, what else could it be?

1 Like